Banana bread, rain and cleaning

I seem to be having a pretty hectic week this week, which is unlike me as I normally like to be calm and relaxed most of the time (did I just say calm and relaxed in relation to looking after a 2 year old and a 6 months old 24/7?!).

We made banana bread today. Finding the right recipe took me a while, since every time I googled something along the lines of  “sugar free banana bread recipe”, the results would be recipes which used syrup instead or even worse artificial sweeteners like aspartame or the dubious agave nectar (I’ve read so many conflicting articles on it that I’m unsure as to whether it’s good or not, so in doubt I’m avoiding it for now). I will leave my rant on why I have virtually no refined sugar in my diet* for another time, let’s focus on the good stuff for now!

*yes, you’re right, I do put some in my pizza dough, but that’s because the yeast needs something to feed on! Roll on sourdough.

Ingredients ready!I found this wholemeal no added sugar banana bread recipe a couple of months ago and absolutely love it. It ticks all the boxes: no refined sugar, wholemeal flour, dates, optional chocolate… what’s not to like?!

Now, I have a really bad flaw. I have no patience at all, which is not something that goes well with cooking and doing crafty things, which are my passions. Today this meant that I miscounted the number of bananas I was using – the recipe says 4-6 and I find that 5 bananas in the blender plus one chopped up to get nice chunks in is the way to go. The last banana got forgotten about, so I only used 5.
As if that wasn’t bad enough, see that luscious wholewheat stoneground flour? It needs sifting. It really does.

On the bright side, I made a little change and added about 2 tablespoons of cocoa to it. It was brilliant, had a little chocolatey hint (though wasn’t all fluffy and light due to the non sifting of the flour, learn from my mistakes!) and tasted lovely. I definitely need to pay more attention to what I’m doing next time, not easy with a toddler that really really wants to “help”.

IMG_20130628_075146

It was brilliant to have something to snack on here and there during our busy day, we’ve been out in the moody weather (sun, rain, sun – repeat as required) all afternoon and this evening I’m doing a fair share of cleaning, my brother, sister-in-law and nephew are coming to visit tomorrow and I’m trying to make the house look a little less like a bomb site. Wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “Banana bread, rain and cleaning

    • I haven’t tried stevia though I’ve heard of it!
      To be honest I’m trying to stick to sugars in their natural form (fruit ok, honey ok, fresh fruit juice so so), it just seems that I find it really hard to control my eating otherwise and could just eat until I can’t fit any more food in me! Still experimenting so may still change my mind in the future 🙂

  1. Hi Katya, I too am now sugar free, almost total, as i’m not even able to have fruit! I can use dextrose (found in beer making shops) and glucose.
    I have lost 2 stone in weight, thats the up side, but now almost don’t think of sugar, i don’t even miss chocolate anymore but i do miss fruit. You are right sugar does suppress the hormones that tell you to stop eating.
    My skin and hair are now much better and i have loads more energy.
    I look forward to seeing more sugar free recipes on your blog xx

Leave a Reply

