Minion dress attempt

I love love love sewing but I can’t do it during the day (apparently kids, needles and scissors don’t mix) and by the time evening comes I’m usually too tired to do anything.

I made a bit of an effort last night because I wanted to make a minion (from Despicable Me) dress for a friend’s little girl. I decided to modify a pillowcase dress, so first off I needed a tutorial for that! I use this one for Sew like my mum. Also, I wanted to make a little bit girly so instead of plain blue for the ‘body’ I got a fabric with a floral pattern, and the yellow is a kona cotton but I totally forgot which yellow it is.

I know my pictures are never great but they’re especially bad as they were all taken in the evening, apologies for that!

image

It was all pretty simple: I made the panels with yellow on the top and blue flowery fabric on the bottom. On one of the panels (before sewing them together), I stitched a black strip of fabric, around 2″ wide, along the length of the panel, then made two circles with felt, one grey and one white, for the eye, and a much smaller one with black cotton fabric.

 

image

 

image

I then did the rest of the dress following the tutorial. Hint: if you’re doing curved armhole as suggested by other tutorials, use bias tape. Don’t try to turn it over and over again. Trust me on this. Then of course, just as I was hemming the bottom edge and I had about 3″ to go before the dress was all finished, this happened. Then it happened again. It was getting late and I was tired, I swear the machine knew!

But, at last, the dress was done! A bit of a late night but I’m pretty pleased with it, despite a few hiccups which tend to happen when I first try out new patterns/styles anyway (does that happen just to me?). The only thing I’d change is to make it much less wide, I tried it on my 2.5 year old little girl and it was rather big, but I guess that’ll make it last longer, as a shorter dress then tunic – they’d better release a Despicable Me 3 next  year!)

image

image

Excuse the blurry pictures. She wanted to try the dress on right away (hence her head peeking in the first pic) and then decided she wanted to climb up the kitchen door. 
I’m planning to make another pillowcase dress soon for her, while at the fabric shop picking fabrics for this one she got very excited so I think it’s only fair that she gets one too!

 

Leave a Reply

