Raw breakfast banana choco tarts

Happy Sunday everyone. Mine has been rather sluggish so far, both my little ones were very restless last night so I had little sleep and my little guy seems still rather grumpy this morning, deciding that he wants to be glued to me at all times.

Why do I tell you all this? Apart from the fact that I love having a good old moan, I wanted a bit of a pick me up for breakfast so I combined the  raw chocolate brownies and this breakfast banana pie  from Raw on $10 or less (such a great blog, it’s great to show that eating raw needn’t be prohibitively expensive!) and ended up with these breakfast banana choco tarts.

Ingredients for 2 tarts:

– 1/2 cup nuts (I particularly like a mix of pecans and cashews)
– 1/2 cup dates
– 1tbsp shredded coconut
– 1tbsp honey
– 1tbsp cocoa
– 1 banana

Put all the ingredients apart from the banana in a blender and whizz together, put the mix in a small tart pan and press down, creating the raised edges with your fingers. Put in the fridge to set for 10/15 minutes (or enough to wash the blender, make the filling, wash it again and get a plate ready!).

Next blend the banana, saving a few slices as topping if you wish. If your bananas are small you might need 2. Put the filling in the base, top with bananas (or anything else you wish) and sprinkle some cinnamon or cocoa on top and voila’, breakfast is served!

Raw banana choco tartsRaw banana choco tarts

One thought on “Raw breakfast banana choco tarts

Leave a Reply

