Vegan millet cakes

Recipe time! I’ve been slacking in the cooking department over the past week or so. Don’t get me wrong, I still cook, but nothing exciting or worth blogging about, I’ve just been quite lazy and uninspired. Hopefully I’m back on track now!

MilletI’ve been wanting to make millet cakes for as long as I can remember. My mum used to make them when I was little and I really loved them, I keep on asking her for the recipe but always forget to write it down. The other issue is that I’m trying to only add vegan recipes to my repertoire as I’m trying to cut down on the animal produce I consume (for ethical as well as health issues). My mum’s recipe called for an egg as a binding ingredient but after reading it seemed that adding more water when cooking the millet would make it creamier and stickier, so I gave it a go. It worked!

 

Ingredients (makes around 12 cakes):

– 1 cup uncooked millet
– 2 carrots
– 1 onion
– 1 courgette
– olive or coconut oil
– spices (I used mild chili powder, cumin and turmeric)

First of all, cook the millet. Let it toast for a few minutes in a dry pan (toast, not burn, keep an eye on it!) then add 2 1/2 cups of water to the pan, bring to the boil, cover and let it simmer on a medium heat, occasionally stirring to avoid it sticking to the pan.

Meanwhile, finely chop the vegetables, I went for a shortcut and whizzed them in the blender. Cook in a pan with a little oil until they’ve softened up, the time will depend a lot on how big your pieces are.

When both the millet and veggies are cooked let them cool a little then combine together well, add salt and spices if you wish then shape into cakes – it helps if you wet your hands to stop the mixture from sticking to them.

Place under the grill and cook until crispy, or until they look appealing to you! They taste great both hot and cold, and go amazingly well with some Worcestershire sauce. I loved these, I think they’d be great to make when I have time during the day and just pop in the oven when it’s time to eat. I wonder if they freeze well, I will try that and report back! Enjoy 🙂

Vegan millet cakes, served with broccoli and leftover risotto

On a separate note, you can tell when daddy comes to the playground. Happy Sunday!

Shark attack!

 

One thought on “Vegan millet cakes

Leave a Reply

